Star Tattoos

This one is striking. Hipsters are permanently etching similar ink into their skin. I didn’t notice it at first, but as soon as I noticed the trend it seemed to pop up repeatedly. I’ve seen hipsters with single stars, multiple stars, nautical stars, and even asterisks (wtf right?). The most popular place is of course the wrist. You might argue and say that this is not a hipster trend, but that star tats are just popular, but I offer you this anecdote: I know a girl for whom I can pinpoint the exact moment at which she made the transition from girl who wears Juicy and Abercrombie to hipsterdom. What was her first act as a member of hipster nation? She got a star tattooed on her wrist. WEIRD.

Don’t get me wrong, I love tattoos. I have a rather large one myself. But something strikes me as a little off when a certain tattoo indicates one’s fashion affiliation. I mean, a cardigan you can take off and a Captain Hook moustache you can shave, but tattoos…that shit is permanent.

By all means do what you want hipsters, but someday you’re going to wake up and realize that half the world has the same “unique” tattoo as you do. Sucks for you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Star Tattoos

  1. Dan says:

    That “asterisk” tattoo actually isn’t very hipster – it’s a popular Red Hot Chili Peppers tattoo.

  2. Kiddo says:

    I got my star tattoo 3 years ago…..god damn you fucking hipsters…just ruining everything for everyone

    • hey yeah! I thought they were cool the FIRST time I saw them… anyone that gets one now, is lame… anyone who got one then, was cool! Maybe you should get a tattoo above it – inked before you did, hipster scum! Haha

  3. Enjoyed the article, question. Is the diamond tattoo the new hipster identifier, or is just everyone a diamond in the rough? I Will be reading more articles on your website.

Leave a Reply

